PDA

View Full Version : Bad Video Playback



Seamus
19-12-2009, 05:22 PM
Hi, can anyone give any suggestions to what might improve my video playback from both DVD and the internet, as when I try to play a DVD the playback blots every 1 to 2 seconds, whereas when I view a video from say YouTube in full-screen the Frames Per Second is exceptionally low. I have lowered my screens resolution in the past and the FPS has improved but I'd like to stay at the resolution of 1680 * 1050 pixel. My MotherBoard is most probably this one: Foxconn P4M9007MB-8RS2H the link to its specification is below...

Foxconn - Products: Motherboard (http://www.foxconnchannel.com/product/Motherboards/detail_overview.aspx?id=en-us0000243)

And my pc's specification is quite low:

Intel Celeron D 3.33Ghz
512mb DDR2 533Mhz Of RAM
VIA Chrome9 HC IGP WDDM...With 64mb Dedicated Graphics Memory and 64mb Shared System Memory to make 128mb of graphics memory.
Running Vista Home Basic 32Bit, Same happens when I'm running Ubuntu 8.10

Is the problem caused by the lack of graphical memory or the lack of RAM? Any help would be greatly appreciated! http://www.freepchelp.co.uk/forum/images/icons/icon7.gif

Tootech
19-12-2009, 05:48 PM
Hi you are running Vista so I'd begin by upping the RAM to 2GB - 512MB with shared video memory is no way to run Vista!

Have a look here and use the tool to scan your system.

RAM Memory Upgrade: Dell, Mac, Apple, HP, Compaq. USB drives, flash cards, SSD at Crucial.com (http://www.crucial.com/uk/?click=true)

Seamus
19-12-2009, 06:05 PM
Ok, I tried the scan and it generated this:

System Manufacturer: DIXONSXP
System Model: Ei 205A
Motherboard Manufacturer: DIXONSXP
Motherboard Model: P4M900-8237A



Maximum Memory Capacity: 1048576 MB
Currently Installed Memory: 512 MB
Available Memory Slots: 1
Total Memory Slots: 2
Dual Channel Support: N.A.
CPU Manufacturer: GenuineIntel
CPU Family: Intel(R) Celeron(R) D CPU 3.33GHz Model 6, Stepping 5
CPU Speed: 3326 MHz

It says the maximum memory capacity is 1048576mb which I think is a gigabyte, but on my motherboards specifications it says the maximum capacity is 2 gigabytes per slot, so what is actually capable of going into one slot? By the way I'm pretty sure that my system was an OEM type, so does that mean if I change system parts Vista will stop working? Many thanks.

RandyL
20-12-2009, 12:10 PM
I see you have Vista Home Basic but even at that I consider 512mb too little. It meets the minimum (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-vista/get/system-requirements.aspx)but I usually figure you need twice the minimum.

Seamus
20-12-2009, 03:03 PM
So what do you reckon my motherboard is capable of taking in one RAM slot?

Seamus
20-12-2009, 03:16 PM
So what do you reckon my motherboard is capable of taking in one RAM slot?

Ok then I've gathered that my motherboard can take 2GB per slot; even though the Crucial scan contradicts that?? So does anyone think that I'd be better off buying two 1GB sticks of 533Mhz RAM or one stick of 2GB 533Mhz RAM??

Seamus
20-12-2009, 04:22 PM
I see you have Vista Home Basic but even at that I consider 512mb too little. It meets the minimum (http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windows-vista/get/system-requirements.aspx)but I usually figure you need twice the minimum.

The shoddy video playback also happens on Ubuntu 8.10 which requires 256MB of RAM so would this mean I'd need to add a graphics card aswell? Many Thanks

Tootech
20-12-2009, 04:33 PM
Crucial did throw a wobbler didn't it.

I found it another way

2GB, 240-pin DIMM, DDR2 PC2-6400 upgrades for FOXCONN P4M9007MB-8RS2H Motherboard, CT757707 from Crucial.com (http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=D05AB17AA5CA7304)

There's lots of ways of looking at this, keep the 512 stick and add a 2GB stick, giving 2.5 GB, put in 1 2GB or 2 x 1GB sticks.

If you won't want to add any more to this system in the future I'd go for 2 x 1GB identical sticks.

If you consider you may end up with 4GB at some time, drop in a single 2GB stick for now.

Seamus
20-12-2009, 04:35 PM
Thanks Tootech :) Do you think the added RAM would help improve the video playback without adding a graphics card?

Tootech
20-12-2009, 05:27 PM
Do you think the added RAM would help improve the video playback without adding a graphics card?

Yep, any modern system with a decent amount of RAM will play video comfortably.

Plastic Nev
24-12-2009, 05:48 PM
I will back up Tootech on this, I do a lot of home video and found I needed more RAM on an XP system to get good results, not just in the picture side but also sound as well, so if you can afford it get two sticks of 2GB., otherwise for now one 2GB will be enough for reasonable results.
you only need better graphics cards if doing a lot of high end game playing, for ordinary video playback, keep your cash in your pocket.
Nev.