PDA

View Full Version : Screen Capture Software



DSTM
06-02-2009, 09:03 AM
Hi Guys.Wondering if there is a software program,preferably free,that will capture a screen shot from a Movie,that I can use for a Desktop.Thanks.:)

BeeCeeBee
06-02-2009, 09:11 AM
Try Snagit Dougie, just tested it on a video and it works fine.

Screen Capture | Snagit | Screen capture software by TechSmith (http://www.techsmith.com/screen-capture.asp)

It isn't freeware but I believe there is a trial period.

DSTM
06-02-2009, 09:20 AM
I have snagit version 7.25,beeceebee,and wouldn't be without it,mate.
Flash Videos,no problem.
Normal Movies,it is just a Black square,when saved.
Wondering why.:)

Wolfeymole
06-02-2009, 09:26 AM
What did you save it as Dougie?

DSTM
06-02-2009, 09:34 AM
I think I just titled it "Sailing Ship",or something,Wolfey,and saved it to my Pictures.
I deleted it. Just would have made a nice Desktop.
Should I have done something different?
Could it be a copyright issue?

Dalo Harkin
06-02-2009, 09:36 AM
FRAPS is also good for capturing images from games, I am sure you can use it for DVD too.

BeeCeeBee
06-02-2009, 09:37 AM
What program were you using to run the movie, Doug?
I tried the same movie (a commercial DVD) in WinDVD and got the same black screen you describe. However I ran it again with Windows Media Player and it saved just fine.

Dalo Harkin
06-02-2009, 09:41 AM
Some software does what you describe - its an inbuilt feature to stop copyright, HD used to have to be seperated into 2 sections:-
AUDIO and VIDEO and obtained seperately, most software stops the latter :)

DSTM
06-02-2009, 09:53 AM
The Movie was being watched with Windows Media Player,at the time.I will try FRAPS,and if that doesn't work,I wont worry about it.
Thanks so much for the quick replies,Guys.Much appreciated.:)

Dalo Harkin
06-02-2009, 01:29 PM
I use FRAPS for taking videos of my gaming - If my friends cant get past a specific point in a game I have - what better way than a video of someone doing it :D

DSTM
06-02-2009, 01:48 PM
Hi Dalo.I downloaded and installed FRAPS. Unregistered Version 2.9.8
It said only BMP,unless Registered.No JPG.Not sure of the difference.
Think it will be a handy program,once I learn how it works.Slow learner.LOL

I accidently came across a fix,and it worked.
I reset the Hardware acceleration, from full back to Zero,and it worked.
Took screenshot,and now reset back to full.
Thanks to all, who helped me with this problem.:)

Dalo Harkin
06-02-2009, 01:49 PM
No problem - I think its an awesome piece of kit for a gamer :)

DSTM
10-02-2009, 02:56 PM
Found out how to take screen shots of Movies,Dalo.
I dropped the Hardware accelerator to Zero,and you can take shots,without Black squares,when saved.
I downloaded Fraps,and that will be very handy also.
A neat little program.:)
Thanks for everybody's help.