PDA

View Full Version : buffering ??



devlin
14-01-2009, 09:41 PM
Hi again
We have just recently installed sky player but I have this annoying stop start buffering every few seconds ,sky told us to try a few things but frankly I did'nt think it would help and it has'nt, things like deleteing history etc every thing they said to try I did, but it's no better however it can be ok with other downloaded items like utube most of the time So what is causing this buffering fault and can it be resolved my speed is 5.4 mbs which is as good as it gets where Iam
Devlin

Dalo Harkin
15-01-2009, 02:16 PM
You need more RAM installing in the PC

Plastic Nev
16-01-2009, 09:31 PM
As Dalo said, if your RAM is less than 1GB, that could be a factor, if however you have more than that, even for Vista, it may be a server problem or distance from the exchange. I don't know what type of connection you have but if ADSL, you may have the facility to see the actual download speed as it happens. In my case a double click on the ADSL icon on the bottom task bar opens a speed indicator window. At busy parts of the day, actual download speeds can be as low as 50Kbps, when I am supposedly on 8Mbps. If that is the case, I would take it up with your ISP as it is known that a lot of ISPs are throttling speeds during busy periods.

iwillbekingin2030
22-01-2009, 12:36 AM
Test Your Speed:
Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test (http://www.speedtest.net/)

Regarding The Ram Possibility, i know nothing about Ram but i do know that vista has a new feature that allows you to use Ready Boost Capable Flash drives as Ram. But Only Some Flash Drives Support this feature and there are limits to how much you can use (which is dependant on how much u already have). but if you think it's a ram problem you could maybe borrow a memory card off a friend and see if it makes a difference.


as i said before i'm an amature in these areas, i just though these suggestions might be useful to you.:p

Dalo Harkin
22-01-2009, 09:45 AM
Most of the newer flash drives will use ready boost - its not quite as simple as Iwillbeking has said though as it transfers the page file over to the flash drive to speed up the system and thus freeing some RAM -
just make sure that you dont whip the flash drive out while the system is running or you can run in to LOTS of issues!

BeeCeeBee
22-01-2009, 09:59 AM
The fact that your profile indicates XP - Home seems to suggest that your RAM is probably insufficient as noted above both by Dalo and Nev. I do not believe that there is any provision for ready boost built into XP but I would think long and hard before using it as a permant solution for not having enough RAM.

There was a good reason for screwing down our old non usb peripherals "back in nhe day" and it has already been pointed out that removing RAM while your system is running is dangerous at best.

It would be helppful if you would actually tell us about your system and avoid further speculation.